The Most Ever Company – Mario

by umbertofrombologna

DSCN0290

I’m not sure what to make of this, apparently the 3rd release by the mysterious Most Ever Company (I’m still not sure who these people are, or why they continue sending me their records for free, but que sera sera! Reviewing unusual material is, after all, why I started this blog in the first place). The cover is a badly pixelated digital rendering of what appears to be the iconic “M” of Super Mario’s hat. The back cover seems to be a badly-typed tracklisting. What could this mean?

The first track on side one is a sped up & utterly distorted performance of the main theme of “Super Mario Bros. 2.” Before I know what to think, it’s over. Track 2 of side A is the familiar water theme from the first Mario game, played slowly on sax & bass guitar. The bass seems a tad over-fancy, and the track ends almost as soon as it began.

Side B starts off with what sounds like a bass being played over loudspeakers in another room, with clean electric guitar close to the mic source. I recognize it as the cave music from Mario 2. Track 2 on Side B is by far the strangest & most rewarding — an atonal romp through what appears to be the Dr. Mario Theme A, with canned applause appearing halfway through. What’s the message here? The ending is thundrous, and the record is over.

I’m left scratching my head once again. What is The Most Ever Company? Why do they like McDonalds and Super Mario so much? Is this some sort of commentary on the roots of culture for the Millennial generation in America? A statement on globalism? Or am I just being paranoid? I don’t think I’ll be listening to this particular platter again anytime soon, but I look forward to whatever else The Most Ever Co. sends my way. (That said, any other readers out there please feel free to send material also!)


http://themostevercompany.com/TMEC0003-mario.html